Record Store Day EP 2015


Our 3rd Record Store Day Single (after the "Woody EP" of 2012 and "Left of the Dial EP" 2013) will be in stores in Italy April 18th 2015.

This one is for our friend Nello, who sold records in Pavia for over 30 years, who was the star of our "Love Etc..." video, and looked after us, as bands and friendships were formed in his shop.

He left us on Xmas day...and of course there is no replacing him.
He always urged me to play this old Tom Waits tune...and I never did. 
So Lowlands & friends decided to record it with some of our (& Nello's) best friends:

Michel Gazich, one of Italy's greatest artists and Violin players. Michele was a close friend of Nello and played at his funeral too.

Maurizio "Gnola" Glielmo, possibly Italy's best blues guitarist and also my Neighbour.

Furio Sollazzi, one of Pavia's musical legends since the 70s where he drummed for Lucio Dalla. For the past 30 years he took a coffee with Nello every day at his store.

Joe Barreca: Bass player for the Mandolin' Brothers and one of the best guys out there.

Sergio "Tamboo" Tamburelli, Betti Verri and Claudio Raschini: backing vocals and close friends of Nello.

Andres Villani & Max Paganin: half of the "love etc..." Horn section. They lived 2 streets away from his shop.

Paolo Pieretto on guitar: The man who runs the "Da Trapani" shows every Sunday night in Pavia. Very close friend of Nello. there's a photo of Nello by the spot where he sat every sunday for the shows.

All these artists played for free on the record and the good dudes at GAIN RECORDS gave us a very sweet deal for recording and mixing this.

Last but not least, IRD, who supplied a lot of records to Nello throughout the years, with highs and lows. They decided in 30 seconds they would put this out.

There's a lot of love and some loss on this EP.

It seems only right that it comes out on a day where we can support small record stores.


"San Diego Serenade" EP will come out via IRD/ MRM records... Record Store Day 2015.

1 "San Diego Serenade" (Tom Waits) Lowlands & Friends

2 "Can't Face the Distance" (Edward Abbiati) Solo Mix

3 "Love Etc..." (Edward Abbiati) Acoustic Mix

4 "I Wanna Be" (Edward Abbiati) Acoustic Mix

5 "San Diego Serenade" (Tom Waits) Ed & Gnola original demo

The acoustic Mixes of the Love Etc... tracks donated by the generous and great Chris Peet

The Low & Lucky Tour returns to Italy


April 2015: The Low & Lucky tour returns to Italy for 5 dates

We're hitting the road with our brothers Southend's finest (and best looking too!) The Lucky Strikes.

Cantù, Milano, L'Aquila, Firenze (Fantastic Triple Bill with Stiv Cantarelli & The Silent Strangers), Pavia

An evening of songs of Ghosts, Rivers, Hopes, Love & Lies. Roots, Punk, Folk, Blues, Garage, Americana...Rock and Roll Music!

Come on out!



This live show recording was a labour of Love. There were professional cameras and multi track recorders in the venue that night but they were not used…for us. So we asked those in attendance to send us whatever they had shot from within the audience and off the stage (using cameras and mainly mobile phones!) We then used SBD / AUD matrix which the sound engineer that night, spontaneously decided last minute to record us (and mix, for free, for us)
So this is a bootleg, a little souvenir of a great night for us.
Feel free to share it far and wide!!
Enjoy the Show


1. Prison Bound (Social Distortion Cover) - Starts: 01:46
2. Walking Down The Street - Starts: 05:34
3. Waltz in Time - Starts: 09:33
4. Lovers & Thieves - Starts: 15:14
5. Love Etc.. - Starts: 20:30
6. Gypsy Child - Starts: 25:23
7. Ghosts in This Town - Starts: 28:54
8. Down on New Street - Starts: 32:04
9. In The End - Starts: 38:20
10. Gotta Be - Starts: 43:20

• Edward Abbiati – Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
• Francesco Bonfiglio – Piano, Organ & Accordion
• Roberto Diana – Electric Guitar, Backing Vocals
• Antonio "Rigo" Righetti – Bass
• Mattia Martini – Drums
• Marco Grignani – Trombone
• Max Paganin - Trumpet

NEW ALBUM; "Love Etc..." October 2014


"Love Etc..." New Album out, on CD & Vinyl, October 2014!

12 brand new songs. An acoustic swing folk album. Featuring Lowlands with Mike "Slo Mo" Brenner, Richard Hunter, David Henry, Antonio "Rigo" Righetti , Andres Villani and many more...

 "It's the most fully realized Lowlands record to me, It's really a strong piece of work. " Rod Picott

 "This album is really good. The best Lowlands yet" Chris Cacavas

RSS feed